Random Thoughts Vol.2: I’m Offensive And When People Don’t Answer Questions

by mitchbrown7

*I’ve received some feedback on this blog: A friend commented that my writing style was fascinating and that very few people are as straight forward as I am. I appreciate that. I don’t feel the need to sugarcoat anything. Also, with me, no subject is taboo; no subject is off limits.

There are a number of people who have influenced my writing, people like Larry Flynt, George Carlin, Eminem, Jim Goad, and Rowdy Roddy Piper to name a few, people who don’t really give a fuck if you get offended by what they do. My best friend Mike told me that there are people out there who wish they could do and say some of the things I do, but they don’t because they lack balls. I’ve been asked before “How can you say that?” Answer: because it’s what I see. If it happens in society, whatever it might be, I’m not going to shy away from discussing it or writing about it. I give a flying fuck about your feelings.

Every single day of my life, I encounter things that bother me, yet I’ve learned how to cope. Maybe some day you will too. If you are offended by any of the things I say or write, then maybe you deserve to be offended.

*One of my biggest pet peeves is when I ask a serious question and someone doesn’t answer me. No, most of the time, the person I’m talking to is not giving me the silent treatment. A lot of times, they usually give an answer that’s maybe at best only nominally related to what I asked. They often give an answer, but they don’t actually answer the question I asked. These are the times when I’ve caught somebody off guard in a subject, an area of knowledge, they are not versed in.

I can only think of one specific time when someone actually didn’t answer at all, total silence. It was at work: a co-worker and I had somehow landed on the topic of religion. I told her if I ever had a religious conversion, which is highly unlikely to happen, it would probably be to Judaism or Islam, because Christianity as it is practiced in the West is Eurocentric ,and, historically, has been used as a tool to subjugate and denigrate people of color. She angrily responded by saying “Do you know what people who are Islamic have done?” Wow, could you be more vague? I asked her for further specifics: “Who are you talking about?, the Sunni?, the Shia?, The Wahhabi?” She fell silent, which resulted in a proverbial TKO for me.

She didn’t answer because she didn’t know who and what she was talking about. The fact she didn’t know and didn’t answer is handing me a victory, and I was kind of giddy about that, but at the same time I was pissed off that she didn’t reply, that she didn’t ask me to explain. If she were to have done that, she would have been admitting her own ignorance. Remember, you can only keep up a facade for so long.

