You should support my blog and a few words on writing.

by mitchbrown7

I’ve been doing this blog since May, and the reaction has been minimal. I would really like more feedback. If you see something that catches your eye, comment on it, and remember, you don’t have to agree with me; I welcome the presentation of a counterpoint. I really need as much support as possible. If you like what you see, you should share the link on your Facebook. If you are on Word Press, you should follow this blog or mention it and provide a link to it on your own blog.

 So why did I start this blog? To be honest, I’m trying to become a blog star, and secondly, I am compulsed to write, and it’s been like that for some time. On my way to class, while sitting in the laundromat, or lying awake in bed, drifting off to sleep, I’m arranging sentences, paragraphs, nouns, adverbs, etc. etc. in my head. My writing is pre mediated in my head before it ever spills out onto the page. It’s like even if I am physically separated from a keyboard, I am still mentally connected to one.

 I’ve come to the conclusion that I am a writer first and a journalist second. Journalism has a certain set of rules that differs from what someone would write for an essay. I don’t think most people are able to easily switch writing styles. (And still keep them straight) You can teach someone proper grammatical rules, but teaching those rules does not guarantee someone will become a good writer. 

 When I took Comp I, we had to put some of our rough drafts online, so fellow students in the class could comment, and I remember this one guy’s writing was absolute shit, not because it was chalked full of grammatical errors. His writing was lifeless, written in a dull prose. He wrote about a day at the beach, but it read more like an instruction manual.  A good writer is extracting something internal or intrinsic and leaving it on the page, and a select few have the gift. You can’t extract something that isn’t there.

 I do a lot of metacognition and self-analysis, and I’ve realized I view the world through gifted, unsympathetic eyes. My outlook is “I did it, why can’t you?” Oh yeah, that’s right, we don’t all have the same aptitudes and talents, so much for the Tabula Rasa personality theory and egalitarianism.

 At this point, nothing angers me more than the promotion of egalitarianism. It’s a bullshit notion that flies in the face of empirical data. It’s a philosophy that denies and downplays innate and intrinsic traits that differ from person to person, traits that could serve as an advantage or disadvantage in certain areas and situations. No, not everyone can be anything they want to be. A retard is not going to be able to work for NASA, and the reason why is biological and genetic. If you are going to take a look at the human race, in its entirety, you cannot discount and dismiss such things. (And still get an accurate picture)  

 I once had someone look over my writing and say “I wish I could write like that.” So how is that I became such a proficient writer. One reason is that I’ve been writing for a long time. I learned to read at an early age, around age four or five. At age seven, I began writing short stories, and it just bubbled from there. Through formal, training, which means college, I’ve been able to hone and sharpen my writing skills, but if those skills weren’t there in the first place, there would be nothing to build on. My writing is just as much an extension of the self as it is a learned skill: For me, it comes as naturally as breathing.

 

 

